2019 cd-versie

link met:

Live in New York - 40th anniversary edition
29 maart 2019
officiële release - 112

2019 cd-versie
disc 1
  1. Titties & Beer
  2. I Promise Not To Come In Your Mouth
  3. Big Leg Emma
  4. Sofa
  5. Manx Needs Women
  6. The Black Page Drum Solo/Black Page #1
  7. Black Page #2
  8. Honey, Don’t You Want A Man Like Me?
  9. The Illinois Enema Bandit
10. The Purple Lagoon

disc 2
  1. Bonus Concert Performances- Part One
  2. “The Most Important Musical Event Of 1976”
  3. Peaches En Regalia
  4. The Torture Never Stops
  5. Black Page #2
  6. Punky’s Whips intro
  7. Punky’s Whips
  8. I Promise Not To Come In Your Mouth
  9. Honey, Don’t You Want A Man Like Me?
10. The Illinois Enema Bandit
11. “Two For The Price Of One”
12. Penis Dimension
13. Montana

disc 3
  1. Bonus Concert Performances- Part Two
  2. America Drinks
  3. “Irate Phone Calls”
  4. Sofa #2
  5. “The Moment You’ve All Been Waiting For”
  6. I’m The Slime
  7. Pound For A Brown
  8. Terry’s Solo
  9. The Black Page Drum Solo/Black Page #1
10. Big Leg Emma
11. “Jazz Buffs and Buff-etts”
12. The Purple Lagoon
13. Find Her Finer
14. The Origin Of Manx
15. Manx Needs Women
16. Chrissy Puked Twice
17. Cruisin’ For Burgers

disc 4
1. Bonus Concert Performances- Part Three
2. The Purple Lagoon/Any Kind Of Pain
3. “The Greatest New Undiscovered Group In America”
4. Black Napkins
5. Dinah-Moe Humm
6. Finale

disc 5
1. Bonus Vault Content
2. The Black Page #2 (Piano Version)
3. I Promise Not To Come In Your Mouth (Alternate Version)
4. Chrissy Puked Twice
5. Cruisin’ For Burgers (1977 Mix)
6. Black Napkins (c)1976
7. Punky’s Whips (Unused Version)
8. The Black Page #1 (Piano Version)

Frank Zappa: conductor, lead guitar, vocals
Ray White: rhythm guitar, vocals
Eddie Jobson: keyboards, violin, vocals
Patrick O'Hearn: bass, vocals
Terry Bozzio: drums, vocals, devil
Ruth Underwood: percussion, synthesizer and various humanly impossible overdubs
Don Pardo: sophisticated narration
Dave Samuels: timpani, vibes
Randy Brecker: trumpet
Michael Brecker: tenor sax, flute
Lou Marini: alto sax, flute
Ronnie Cuber: baritone sax, clarinet
Tom Malone: trombone, trumpet, piccolo
John Bergamo: percussion overdubs
Ed Mann: percussion overdubs
Lou Ann Neill: osmotic harp overdub

Recorded at the Palladium, New York, december 1976 and The Felt Forum, New York, Halloween 1976
Zappa in New York, de originele versie, maakt deel uit van de oorspronkelijk geplande Läther 4lp-box. Voor meer info hierover kijk bij Läther.

De wervende teksten:

Zappa In New York – Deluxe consists of five CDs from the Vault celebrating the 40th Anniversary of the album’s release in 1978. Featured is the main album in its original mix, remastered by Bob Ludwig and available for the first time digitally. Also included is a disc of relevant Vault nuggets and over 3 hours of unreleased live performances from the NYC Palladium concerts, representing every composition played during the post-Christmas 4 show engagement of 1976 and newly mixed in 2018. Extensive Liner Notes by Ruth Underwood, Ray White & Joe Travers with Jen Jewel Brown. Limited edition metal tin mimicking a New York street manhole houses the 5CD collection.

The 5CD set is available in limited quantity’s and will come packaged in an embossed tin box (18cm x 2.5cm) that resembles a New York City manhole cover and contains a 60 page book.

Recorded live in New York City at the end of 1976. Heavy on, well, “freewheeling” lyrical content, with “Titties & Beer” and “The Illinois Enema Bandit” (the latter featuring “sophisticated narration” by Don Pardo) being special favorites with young males of a certain age. Also here is the song that gets most peoples’ vote for the best title ever to grace a Zappa instrumental, “I Promise Not to Come In Your Mouth.”

When Zappa first released this album in ’78, Warner Brothers was especially nervous about a little tune called “Punky’s Whips.” The tune concerned drummer Terry Bozzio’s lurid sexual fantasies about one Punky Meadows, guitarist for the band Angel. Since Angel was then regarded as an important player in the music industry (yeah, right), Warners sat on the album for a long while and then deleted the track altogether. With this CD reissue “Punky’s Whips” is back in all its glory, along with four other songs not on the original vinyl.

Bestel hier:

Ben benieuwd. een van mijn favorieten, In maart weet ik meer. In ieder geval is een putdeksel een prachtige verpakking.

Door de bekende samenloop van omstandigheden heb ik een enorme vertraging op websitegebied. Binnenkort is dat voorbij en volgt de recensie. Geduld.
dutch text 2018 / 2019 Paul Lemmens © pics etc. ZFT/Ume